Sport Snaps

February 10, 2017

The Goulburn Valley Football League and Goulburn Valley Netball League are set to merge.

They have operated as separate entities in recent years but there is a move to combine them and to be controlled by a sole administration with the same chairman and board.

It is planned to increase the GVL board from seven to nine members with the two new additions having no links with clubs in the league and having a background in netball.

This means that Jacqui Hudgson, current president of the GVNL and an executive member since 2000 will lose her job as she has a coaching role with the Shepparton Bears club.

Reeves lands KDFL role

MURCHISON premiership coach Steve Reeves has been given the job of trying to lift the status of the Kyabram District Football League in country football.

Reeves has been appointed to mentor the league side for its interleague game against Golden Rivers League this year and also will have the job again next year.

Reeves was named the Kyabram League Coach of the Year in 2012 and then ended a long premiership drought for Murchison by leading it to the 2013 premiership.

As an added bonus for the 2017 campaign Reeves has an intimate knowledge of the Kyabram League opponents, Golden Rivers League again after having coached Quambatook to a grand final berth in the Golden Rivers League in 2015.

KDFNL President Wayne Ryan identified Reeves as a fantastic appointment for the league.

“After a very strong field of applicants, Steve stood out as a high quality applicant with his in-depth knowledge of both the KDFNL and the GRFL, as well as his strong passion of the game” he said.

In other KDFNL Interleague coaching news, Dean Wileman has again been appointed as Under 18s coach.

In Netball, Julie Telford (A grade), Rod O’Neil (17 and Under) and Sherryn Wall (15 and Under) have all been reappointed for the 2017 season.

Pasin can’t beat Elliott

KYABRAM Fire Brigade cricketer Justin Elliott’s record Murray Valley Cricket Association’s individual score is still intact, but was seriously challenged recently.

Last Saturday week Jerilderie batsman Dave Pasin blasted 246 not out against Katamatite. He hit 45 fours and two sixes.

But Pasin’s effort fell short of Justin Elliott’s 265 for Cobram against Nathalia in 2007 which is acknowledged as the highest individual score made in the Murray Valley Cricket Association.

Elliott returned from Cobram three seasons ago to play for the Kyabram Fire Brigade where he started his cricketing career with his brother Tye.

Their brother Matt played with the Kyabram Cricket Club and went on to play Test cricket for Australia.

Cricketers reunite

KYABRAM Cricket Club plans to celebrate three of its premiership wins on Saturday week, February 18.

A 50-year reunion of its 1976-77 A grade premiership win, a 30 year reunion of its A Reserve grade flag win in 1986-87 and a 10 year reunion of its B grade 2006-7 flag triumph will be staged.

All three flags were won in the former Kyabram and District Cricket Association.

One of the organisers and club stalwart Peter Ryan said his club was hopeful of staging the first game for the season on the revamped Kyabram recreation reserve and centre wickets on the day of the reunion.

‘‘We are hopeful the ground will be ready for use that day and all the past players and officials connected with those premiership teams can take in some cricket and enjoy a social get-together during and after the day’s play,’’ Peter said.

‘‘We would love to welcome all the players who were in those sides back for the day with the reunion officially commencing at 6pm in the Wilf Cox.’’

To jolt some memories here are the premiership sides from those years.

A Grade (1976-77) – Bob Ferguson (captain), Russell Johnson, Graham King, Trevor Stone, John Calley, Gus Underwood, John Timms, Rob Asplin, Kelly O’Donnell, Ken Clapham, David Collins (vice captain) Tom Connors and Ern Purdey (president).

A Reserve (1986-87) – Rob Asplin (captain), Russell Johnson (vice captain), Brendan Sleeth, Michael Baker, Craig Hilder, Leigh Wilkinson, Terry Hamilton, Phil Coble, Brian Cook, Gary McKenzie, Daryl Lucas, Steve Kightly.

B Grade (2006-07) – Peter Ryan (captain), Greg Ross, Zane Coventry, Billy Hatzie, Brendan Ryan, Peter Brewer, Chris Usher, Frank Ryan, Gary McKenzie, Benny Gugliotti, Emil Somers, Norm Brewer and John Roberts (president).

Anyone with any inquiries can contact Peter on 0438 914591

Lions have a new leader

SEYMOUR Football Netball Club which sacked its A grade netball coach after the 2016 season has named its new mentor.

Premier League Open division one netballer Laura Carland has taken on the job and will coach both the clubs A and B grade netballers.

Seymour football prospects also continue to rise with former star defender and GVFL representative Jake Anderson back with the club after four years and Hugh Robinson returning after missing all of last season through injury.

Goalkicking guru Saad Saad is also on the training track and keen to return to the club.

Gladwin steps in

KYABRAM District Football League club Nagambie has a new president.

Club stalwart of 25 years Brad Gladwin has stepped up to take on the role from Brett Fothergill.The news from Nagambie is a bit daunting for rival clubs with the defending premier expected to lose no players from last seasons successful grand final line-up.

-Gus Underwood

More in Sport
Login Sign Up

Dummy text